Pink Floyd - The Endless River

In many ways, the jury is still out on The Endless River — Pink Floyd’s self-proclaimed final record, culled from 20 hours of unused music from The Division Bell sessions. In my recent review, I explored the quandary that the album represents: whether it’s an apt closing note for Pink Floyd or simply a very high-end collection of out takes. Though the album recycles and nods to many of their previous works, it still stands as a provocative collection of music, and does eclipse some of Floyd’s lesser albums in terms of quality.In The Endless River, Gilmour, Mason, and Wright star as definitive purveyors of the band’s iconic sound; tracing through Division Bell to Saucerful of Secrets. The album acts in many ways as a love letter to Wright – highlighting his wealth of work from the ’94 sessions all the way to the inclusion of an archived recording of his organ playing at Royal Albert Hall in 1968. The track’s title, “Autumn ’68”, acts as a nod to the Wright-penned “Summer ’68” from Atom Heart Mother. Its intentions and sources are varied, but The Endless River offers a uniquely Floydian soundscape: moody instrumentals harkening back to their jazzier, proggier days.

Track Listing

1. Things Left Unsaid

2. It's What We Do

3. Ebb and Flow

4. Sum

5. Skins

6. Unsung

7. Anisina

8. The Lost Art of Conversation

9. On Noodle Street

10. Night Light

11. Allons-y (1)

12. Autumn '68

13. Allons-y (2)

14. Talkin' Hawkin'

15. Calling

16. Eyes to Pearls

17. Surfacing

18. Louder Than Words

Sign In or Register to comment.
Buy a VPS directly with Bitcoin from Evolution Host