The Animals

Floyd

Administrator
Staff member
Remembered for their substantial contributions to the British Invasion of the mid-60s and the concurrent R&B revival, The ANIMALS were second only to The ROLLING STONES and The BEATLES in this field, their hall of fame status set in stone courtesy of all time classics, `The House Of The Rising Sun’ and `We Gotta Get Out Of This Place’. Numerous personnel changes duly blighted their careers, while confusion was rife when the inaugural incarnation of the Americanised ERIC BURDON & THE ANIMALS contained no original members. This to many died-in-the-wool fans was the end of The ANIMALS and the re-birth of BURDON.
Formed 1963 in Newcastle-upon-Tyne, singer Eric Burdon and drummer John Steel had already tread the boards as The Pagan Jazzmen (from 1957-1958), The Pagans (from 1959) –

with self-taught pianist/singer Alan Price – and in turn, as the core part of the Kansas City Seven/Five (between 1960-62), bassist Bryan “Chas” Chandler (from The Kontours) would join the trio when they were in transitional mode from trad-jazz to R&B.